5th Edition of ASP

The 5th edition of the biennial African School of Fundamental Physics and Applications, ASP2018, will take place on June 24 – July 14, 2018 in Namibia.

Members of the International Organizing Committee made a site visit to Namibia on June 12-16, 2017. The objective of the site visit was to meet with the Local Organizing Committee and to converge on a program of actions leading towards a successful ASP.

A new clip of the visit may be found at ASP2018 NUST Visit

The school poster can be found at ASP2018-Poster

Further details will be released in due course.

ASP2018 Student application Open

The student application period: November 1, 2017 – January 31, 2018.
Application materials needed:

  • CV
  • Statement of interest
  • All university transcripts
  • One letter of recommendation from university advisor

Application to be submitted online here.

ASP and ACP Programs

The ASP activities consist of the following components:

  1. A 3-week scientific program for 60–80 students from all over Africa with a minimum if 3 years university education in mathematics, physics, computing and/or engineering. ASP2018-Namibia;
  2. African Conference on Fundamental Physics and Applications (ACP) organized in parallel to the students and teachers activities. It  includes invited and contributed talks in many different tracks. ACP2018-Namibia;
  3. A one-week workshop is organized to train 70–80 high school teachers for improved physics teaching;
  4. A one-week program that consists of outreach to motivate 200–250 learners to develop and maintain interest in physics;
  5.  A forum that consists of talks, discussions and debate about the role and the future of ASP in capacity development in Africa;
  6. Continuously,  an active mentoring and coaching program to help ASP students.

To support these activities, please contact the organizing committee.

ASP 2014, Third Edition, Dakar

Senegal, 3-23 August 2014

The third Biennial African School of Fundamental Physics and its Applications.

  • Bobby S. Acharya, ICTP & King College of London
  • Ketevi A. Assamagan, BNL
  • Anne E. Dabrowski, CERN
  • Christine Darve, ESS
  • Jonathan R. Ellis, CERN & King College of London
  • Steve Muanza, CNRS-IN2P3
  • Rudiger Voss, CERN